Blue Red Green Magenta Purple Teal Lime Brown Pink Mango

Theme Color Selector

The Cricket World Cup
India, Pakistan and the WT20
  • Article 3
  • Article 3

India vs Pakistan

Arch-rivals and World Champions

India's unbeaten record against Pakistan in ICC World Cups has been kept intact (till Sep 30, 2012, the last time they met), with India winning five times in the 50-over version and thrice in the T20 format.

ICC Twenty20 World Championship 2007

India and Pakistan met in a Group stage match in the first ever World Twenty Championships in Durban, South Africa, on 14 September 2007. Pakistan made 141/7 in their allotted 20 overs chasing India's 141/9. After the match was tied, India won the bowl-out. Player of the match was Mohammad Asif who took 4-18. Uthappa scored 50 from 39 balls for India, while Misbah-ul-Haq scored 53 from 35 for Pakistan.

In the Final on 24 September in Johanessburg, India batted first and scored 157/5. Pakistan were all out for 152 in 19.5 overs. India's Irfan Pathan was the player of the match with figures of 3-16.

ICC Twenty20 World Championship 2009

India and Pakistan didn't meet in the tournament. Pakistan beat Sri Lanka in the finals at Lord's, to claim the trophy.

ICC Twenty20 World Championship 2010

India and Pakistan didn't meet in the tournament. England claimed the trophy.

ICC Twenty20 World Championship 2012

India met Pakistan in the Super 8 stage on 30 September 2012 in Colombo. Pakistan made 128 in 19.4, batting first. India easily chased down the target, reaching 129/2 in 17 overs. West Indies beat Sri Lanka by 36 runs to win the cup.

ICC Twenty20 World Championship 2014


India, Pakistan and the World Cups